medic's suggestion complaintbox!

Go down

medic's suggestion complaintbox!

Post by medicdude on Sat Jun 26, 2010 2:05 am

Home of a number of things I've found on the server, and my suggested solutions.

1. Cybering

Within a minute of arriving on the server tonight, I ran across a pair who were engaging in annoying descriptive sexual scenes. This really shouldn't be permissable, for the same reason that you're not allowed to post porn on the forums, or much of anywhere. It's irritating to anyone not involved, especially as a lot of people around here are young and don't need the influence. If you want to cyber, set up a fade to black and finish up in an external chat program. No one should be able to overhear your internet carnal adventures. And while I don't know the identities of the individuals involved, thanks to the script's forced anonymity, I can send logs to any concerned admin.

2. Prop spawning

Not being able to spawn props without donating is a bit abusive. I know that there's the concern of prop spamming, but having a few items to furnish a shop or apartment is always a plus. Having to rely on the few with the power of toolgun to fill the world is going to get tiring. Can't a prop limit be set per player?

3. Weapon sounds are way too quiet. I mean, I can rarely hear them from the other side of a room. If someone's shooting, everyone in town should know.

4. Waiting an hour after dying is a bit too much. It's not like I have all day to RP. You shouldn't waste people's RP time being dead, especially when the cause of death is PROBABLY a sniper that no one heard or saw. Compunding this difficulty is the fact that I also am not allowed to switch characters for this period... so it reality, all that I can do during this hour is +1 the server population and give people a ragdoll to play with.

5. RDM shouldn't happen. Maybe guns are too easy to get. From what I've seen, the economics of rebel weapons is a two-step process: BM holder buys gun from menu, rebel buys gun from BM holder. I don't know how many people have BM, but it shouldn't be many. I would love to see the weapons be physically imported - while we're on a coastal map, use it to our advantage, and bring some boats to the harbor. One or two people would have the ability to spawn weapons, which would be loaded onto a ship - in such a way that Wehrmacht customs officials wouldn't see it - and brought to town. These would have to be stashed in one of the map's various hiding places, sold to in-town dealers, and then to the end buyers. Shipments wouldn't necessarily be consistant, or always have everything you wanted. And the larger they are, the more likely they are to be found.

6. Can't you put the Nexus spawnpoints NOT in a wall? I know they're LUA'd in, it should just be a matter of moving them west 64 units

7. Despite the Combine touches on the Nexus and church, I really feel that we should keep the serious server on Venetian. It's an excellent map, other than a few minor failings. No, it's not set in Minsk, but IMO it's a lot easier and more reasonable to shift the storyline to Italy (which was under German occupation as well) than to make another map of equal quality.

8. Is there any way to make some weapons always visible on a character? Having someone assgun an FG42 is a bit unreasonable on a serious server.

9. I suggest the creation of a more legitimate, long-term business system, where players advertise on the forums and work on the server. Really, anything that helps pull the RP out of Gmod is an advantage.

10. Can we do readable HTML books, in addition to the newspapers when those are published? My standard reply when a minge approaches my Wehrmacht character is 'Go read a book.' It'd be convenient if there were actually books for them to read.



I feel like I've found some more things to complain about, but whatever, ten is plenty. Let the discussion begin, and don't forget that I'm not always right... haha, I'm actually kinda sorry about this post. I don't hate the server, I swear.
avatar
medicdude
Long-term Member
Long-term Member

Steam ID : medicdude
Posts : 99
Dick Length (in inches) : 107
Balls : 2
Join date : 2010-06-23

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: medic's suggestion complaintbox!

Post by DroolingPacman on Sat Jun 26, 2010 2:19 am

1. I rape people I catch doing it.

2. A system where people will be able to buy props is in the works, so for now I'll work on getting static props set up for the entire map.

3. Ill give you the same reply that Devan gives me with I bitch about weapons. "Can you code the weapons and model them?"

4. I've suggested to devan that we lower the time to about 10 minutes, he has yet to do it. You can switch chars but you have to rejoin.

5. Your suggestion is VERY good and we really should implement this, There
is also only one active dealer.

6. Once again, Devan has been told, nothing has been done.

7. We will be staying there, it will be Russia. People just need to get it into their heads and read the directory, its there for a reason.

8. Good suggestion, I'll bitch to Devan to make it happen.

9. I've suggested to Devan that we have licenses almost TnBish, that would create fewer shop keepers and allow for such things. He likes it like this because he feels anyone would be able to be a shopkeeper, when in reality that is true it does not promote better RP.

10. Devan needs to script this and everything else you want, until he gets to all this shit expect none of it. More scripters would be GREATLY appreceated.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------




Before you ask, yes I love anime, and userbars...
avatar
DroolingPacman
Community Manager
Community Manager

Steam ID : Sfctrekie
Posts : 149
Dick Length (in inches) : 9205
Balls : 7
Join date : 2010-05-01
Age : 23
Location : USA

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: medic's suggestion complaintbox!

Post by Admin on Sat Jun 26, 2010 2:52 am

1. Shocked

2. I will work on this

3. What Drooling Said

4. Blah blah blah, I'll lower it

5. Good Idea, I think this could happen but this would basically allow anyone to be a dealer.

6. I will fix them.

7. Soviet Russia seems like a better place.

8. OK.

9. Licenses be dumb, but if Drooling or someone is able to convince me then I will implement a licenses system

10. Will be done, first book will be "Mein Kampf"
avatar
Admin
Community Owner
Community Owner

IC Name : Devan Krieg
Steam ID : STEAM_0:1:12150295
Posts : 381
Dick Length (in inches) : 18436
Balls : 9
Join date : 2010-03-01

View user profile http://1941.fullboards.com

Back to top Go down

Re: medic's suggestion complaintbox!

Post by medicdude on Sat Jun 26, 2010 1:40 pm

#5 It would allow anyone to be a dealer... if they know someone with guns and someone who wants to buy them. However, don't forget that people can report dealers to the Germans, who should be quickly arrested (once we get the fine-tuned war machine in action). Thus, you wouldn't be able to acquire weapons at all until you're trusted to not be a collaborator.

#7 It's not really any different, except that Italy has less of a winter and far fewer mass executions. There was an pretty decent resistance. But in any case, it's not that important.

#9 I really don't like the license system, it's very limiting for the players. I'm more asking for players to form companies which operate out of areas in the map... the Tavern should be one business, not four or five individual barkeeps who take over when they have the chance. They can share supplies and things. Which ties in with #5, in a non-weapon sense... containers are saved when the map crashes, right? So we could easily have locked containers of beer/wine that are imported across the sea, dropped off to the tavern, and the contents are then sold, without any spawn menu involved.

Thanks for reading through everything and replying promptly Smile Good to know that progress is possible here.
avatar
medicdude
Long-term Member
Long-term Member

Steam ID : medicdude
Posts : 99
Dick Length (in inches) : 107
Balls : 2
Join date : 2010-06-23

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: medic's suggestion complaintbox!

Post by SomebodyX on Sat Jun 26, 2010 2:40 pm

#8 seems good and all..but mm..does that mean no can actually hold on without being seen?..mm how should I say it...The Resistance characters would be found out very quickly.
avatar
SomebodyX
Junior Member
Junior Member

Posts : 34
Dick Length (in inches) : 34
Balls : 1
Join date : 2010-06-15

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: medic's suggestion complaintbox!

Post by medicdude on Sat Jun 26, 2010 2:57 pm

Ideally, pistols would be concealable, but rifles and SMGs would not. It's up to the rebels to be careful where they carry their weapons.
avatar
medicdude
Long-term Member
Long-term Member

Steam ID : medicdude
Posts : 99
Dick Length (in inches) : 107
Balls : 2
Join date : 2010-06-23

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: medic's suggestion complaintbox!

Post by SomebodyX on Sat Jun 26, 2010 3:18 pm

mm..idk...the way it is now seems reasonable..its just that the other BM Dealer was passing out guns as if it was free Razz
avatar
SomebodyX
Junior Member
Junior Member

Posts : 34
Dick Length (in inches) : 34
Balls : 1
Join date : 2010-06-15

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: medic's suggestion complaintbox!

Post by TheGreen on Sun Jun 27, 2010 12:31 am

SomebodyX wrote:mm..idk...the way it is now seems reasonable..its just that the other BM Dealer was passing out guns as if it was free Razz

You were there when it happened, too? I thought it was in the docks, and those germans just kept passing it by on my Civilian character, not the offduty.
Seriously, we need more books, though. Don't worry about the newspaper, we just need books, from illegal ones to history books that they feed to kids.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
You Are awesome.
Just Love your fail and coolness.
Lost in your post.
The
worst post, but still cool.
Game sucks without you.
avatar
TheGreen
Gold Member+++
Gold Member+++

Steam ID : wAcGotcha
Posts : 329
Dick Length (in inches) : 336
Balls : 1
Join date : 2010-06-23
Age : 27
Location : Madrid,Madrid,Spain

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: medic's suggestion complaintbox!

Post by Loppy |Lopsided| on Sun Jun 27, 2010 6:59 pm

In response to your Cybering post. I must say that I am at fault here more than most. While yes this is definitely awkward, it doesn't help that the action's have about the same radius as the local out-of-character. You shouldn't have been able to read from where you were. IMO I think that sex should be Illegal IC (insert random excuse here) But not OOC. I don't see why it should be banned from the server, sex is real and it happens.
avatar
Loppy |Lopsided|
Senior Member
Senior Member

IC Name : Otz. Paul Chesterfield
Steam ID : STEAM_0:0:8041919
Posts : 113
Dick Length (in inches) : 129
Balls : 0
Join date : 2010-06-18
Age : 24
Location : HR Colorado

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: medic's suggestion complaintbox!

Post by medicdude on Sun Jun 27, 2010 11:51 pm

It's real, and it happens, but it's a personal matter. The Internet is entirely not a personal place, so the course of action to take seems obvious. Besides that, there's plenty of 14-year-olds around here who don't need your help in being corrupted. However, I certainly appreciate that you're accepting that it is a problem.

There can easy be IC laws against procreation, whether based in history or not, but one should always remember that IC laws are made to be broken and enforced with only IC punishment. Guns are illegal, and I've seen plenty of them in the hands of citizens. If that same level of control is enacted - and it would likely be less, especially as many of the offenders ARE government employees - we'd be achieving nothing.
avatar
medicdude
Long-term Member
Long-term Member

Steam ID : medicdude
Posts : 99
Dick Length (in inches) : 107
Balls : 2
Join date : 2010-06-23

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: medic's suggestion complaintbox!

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum